NRRA Celebrates 40th Anniversary at Annual Meeting

November 15, 2021

The Northeast Resource Recovery Association (NRRA) welcomed nearly 70 members and staff to its 40th Anniversary Annual Meeting on November 10, held remotely.  Executive Director Reagan Bissonnette reflected on NRRA’s forty year history, and the program included a special presentation on current recycling markets by Chaz Miller, CEO of Chaz Miller Associates. 

Nearly 70 members and staff joined NRRA's 2021 Annual Meeting remotely.

Reagan shared in her remarks how NRRA has evolved over time, starting as a small organization with four member communities.  “NRRA was founded back in 1981.  Keep in mind that in 1981, recycling was not cool or mainstream.  There were no other organizations in NH helping municipalities market their recyclables.”  Today, NRRA has over 450 members across New England and helps communities market dozens of different types of commodities with over 70 vendors and haulers. 

In his presentation, Recycling Markets in 2021, Chaz Miller discussed the status of current recycling markets and the reasoning behind recent market improvements.  He also provided his prediction for future markets.  “Good prices are here to stay (at least, for a while). There’s a lot to be happy about. I call these Goldilocks markets. Prices aren’t too hot, they aren’t too cold.”  Chaz answered member questions, including those related to how long the fibers markets will remain strong and advice for “no regrets” recycling program investments that municipalities should consider.  

Awards presented during the meeting included:

Vendor of the Year Award – Cota’s Propane Tank Service, Grand Isle, Vermont

Rookie of the Year Award – Steve Bean, Transfer Station Manager, Littleton, New Hampshire

Sami Izzo Recycler of the Year Award – Brian Patnoe, Solid Waste Manager, Lancaster, New Hampshire

Members elected three new members to the Board of Trustees: Ken Filpula (Transfer Station Supervisor, Town of Moultonborough, NH); Benjamin Hoy (Recycling Manager, Town of Walpole, NH); and Joshua Whipple (Solid Waste Manager, Town of Swanzey, NH). 

The Board subsequently reelected the prior slate of officers for 2022: President Joanie Cudworth (Director of Public Works, Town of Hollis, NH); Co-Vice Presidents Paul Tomasi (Executive Director, Northeast Kingdom Solid Waste District) and John Hurd (Vermont Program Manager, PaintCare, Inc.); Secretary Brian Bartram (Manager of the Salisbury/Sharon, CT Transfer Station); and Treasurer Mark Richardson (Transfer Station Coordinator (Retired), Town of Hampton, NH).   

Members also heard remarks from President Joan Cudworth recognizing the successes of NRRA over the past year and a Treasurer’s Report confirming that NRRA remains on solid financial ground.  Additional details will be shared in NRRA’s upcoming 2021 Annual Report.